• 2020 Event Recap

  • Annual Convention & Exhibition

    November 9-10, 2020 - Riverhouse, Bend, OR

    Congratulations to the following 2020 OTA Award Winners:

    • Image Award Recipient - Highway Heavy Hauling
    • Safety Grand Champion - TP Trucking
    • Carrier of the Year - Omega Morgan
    • Allied Member of the Year - EROAD


  • Safety Conference

    October 8-9 - Vally River Inn, Eugene, OR

    Despite the pandemic and other disasters of 2020, members were still able to gather for our annual safety event. One of the highlights was the Fleet Safety Awards where we recognized companies and individuals for their contributions to safety within their organizations and the industry as a whole. Congratulations to the following:

    2020 Oregon Fleet Safety Awards
    Safety Grand Champion: TP Trucking 
    Specialized Carrier Under 1/2 Million Miles
    1. Highway Specialized Transport LLC
    2. Independent Dispatch, Inc.
    Specialized Carrier OVER 1/2 Million Miles
    1. Hattenhauer Transportation LLC
    2. Western Hyway Oil LLC
    3. Rick Franklin Corporation
    Private Carrier
    1. Pepsi Northwest Beverages, LLC
    2. Charlie’s Produce
    Less Than Truck Load UNDER 1 Million Miles
    1. Kool Pak LLC
    Less Than Truck Load OVER 1 Million Miles
    1. FedEx Freight Inc
    2. Old Dominion Freight Line, Inc
    3. Reddaway
    Truckload 1/2 to 1 Million Miles
    1. Mitchell Bros Truck Line Inc
    2. Martin Transportation Co.
    Truckload UNDER 1/2 Million Miles
    1. Mallorie’s LLC 
    2. Stinger Transport
    3. Professional Transportation Services
    Truckload 1-2 Million Miles
    1. Portland Container Repair Corporation
    2. Joel Olson Trucking, Inc
    3. Boshart Trucking
    Truckload 2-3 Million Miles
    1. Northwest Beef Express
    2. F.V. Martin Trucking
    Truckload 3-4 Million Miles
    1. TP Trucking LLC
    2. Terrain Tamers Chip Hauling Inc.
    Truckload OVER 3 Million Miles
    1. Wilson Logistics Inc.
    Safety Professional (Large): Bob Shinn, Portland Container Corporation
    Safety Professional (Small): Christie Wuerst, Terrain Tamers


  • 2020 Bob Russell TruckPAC Golf Tournament - Winners List

    Low Gross - TEC Equipment

    • Nathan Achim
    • Bob Griffith
    • Bruce Heiberg
    • Jimmy Heiberg


    Low Net - Freightliner NW

    • Todd Tracy
    • Peter Hobb
    • Kam Sihota
    • Ken McCullough


    Closest to the Pin #3

    • Bryan Hoge – Carson Oil


    Longest Drive #12

    • Brock Thomas – Thomas & Sons


  • Thank you to the following "Meals for Drivers" event sponsors and volunteers:

    • EROAD
    • Right Weigh
    • John Sallak
    • Jennifer Young
    • Boshart Trucking
    • Frank Buell
    • Pam Dinsdale
    • Bowman Trucking Inc.
    • Jim Fruitt Trucking, Inc.
    • Staton Companies
    • Anonymous
    • A & M Transport
    • John Russell
    • Kustom Kreations of Oregon
    • Quilting Sisters of Salem
    • Jon Sowers
    • KPD Insurance
    • Titan-Kelly LLC
    • Walsh Trucking Co., Ltd.
    • Jenck Farms LLC
    • Pepsi NW Beverages
    • Davis Trans-Lite
    • Barbara Kouba
    • Arrow Roofing & Sheet Metal
    • PrePass Safety Alliance
    • Lisa Pulaski/Geno Sage
    • All Service Moving
    • Le Roy Watson
    • D.C. Anderson & Co. LLC
    • Dale & Barb Morrison
    • Siskiyou Transportation, Inc.
    • Craft Brewing Alliance
    • Rogue Distillery
    • Suzy Strutner
    • Combined Transport
    • Charlie Every Trucking Company
    • JLE Truckwash
    • Terrain Tamers
    • F.V. Martin Transport
    • TP Trucking LLC


  • Thank you to the following companies and individuals for their contribution to OTA's calls and webinars during the pandemic:

    • Michael Wood, OSHA
    • Rep. Christine Drazan, Oregon House Minority Leader
    • Jennifer King, WHA Insurance
    • Kelsea Meier, K.P.D. Insurance
    • Matt Solomon, Moss Adams
    • Jennifer Young, Moss Adams
    • Rep. Shelly Boshart-Davis, Boshart Trucking
    • Heather Gray, CleanFleet
    • Dale Lemmons, Interstate Wood Products
    • Andy Owens, A & M Transport
    • Erik Zander, Omega Morgan
    • Linda Navarro, Oregon Bankers Association
    • Laura Salerno Owens, Markowitz Herbold PC
    • Kyle Busse, Markowitz Herbold PC
    • Chris Spear, ATA
    • Gordon Oldham, Walmart
    • Gene Hullette, Leavitt’s Freight Service
    • Timothy Love, Nexgen Logistics
    • Kris Strickler, ODOT
    • Amy Ramsdell, ODOT
    • Travis Brouwer, ODOT
    • Tom McClellan, ODOT
    • Christian Gaston, Office of Governor Kate Brown
    • Michael Wood, Oregon OSHA


  • Southern Oregon Trucking Industry Mixer

    Members, non-members, colleagues, guests and others invested in the trucking industry gathered for the seventh annual Southern Oregon Trucking Industry Mixer at Seven Feathers Casino Resort in Canyonville. This dynamic event brings the industry together to celebrate successes and discuss the challenges ahead for Oregon's trucking industry.

    Attendees enjoyed catching up with colleagues during a social hour before dinner was served and presentations were made. They also were treated to the unique piano stylings of Ron Jarvis! OTA President Jana Jarvis briefed the group and talked about the importance of getting employees involved. Their support directly impacts the industry and their own livelihoods.

    Leadership in crisis situations was the theme for the evening, with a a special presentation from guest speaker Lt. Col. Robert J. Darling, USMC (Ret.), who talked about his experience during the attacks on 9/11. Attendees heard about key qualities that leaders - in any situation - can apply when faced with a crisis.
    Mark Gibson (Siskiyou Transportation) talked about the importance of Truck PAC in the fight against policies and regulations that are particularly damaging to the trucking industry. The best part - anyone can participate, no matter their position in the industry. Those who didn't want to evening to end moved on to the after party - new at this year's event!